V&A museum London, Digital Design Weekend 2016

posted in: Blog | 1
Photo by DAVID ILIFF. License: CC-BY-SA 3.0
Photo by DAVID ILIFF. License: CC-BY-SA 3.0

 

September is fast approaching and so is London Design Festival and the Digital Design Weekend!

Now in its sixth year, the Digital Design Weekend will bring together again over a hundred artists, designers, engineers, technologists and of course the public to celebrate and share contemporary digital art and design, take part in interactive installations and labs, engage in conversations, and learn about processes.

Over the weekend we will be taking over the Museum to showcase a huge programme of cutting edge, international digital projects, but also performances, talks, open workshops, labs and family-friendly activities, all exploring engineering, making and collaboration.

The Victoria and Albert Museum (often abbreviated as the V&A), London, is the world’s largest museum of decorative arts and design, housing a permanent collection of over 4.5 million objects. It was founded in 1852 and named after Queen Victoria and Prince Albert.

Some of this year’s highlights include:

– Pattern Recognition, a visually arresting performance involving a system of moving lights that can track and intelligently respond to the dancers it observes by Alexander Whitley Dance Company in collaboration with Memo Akten.

– Altered Beauty, a Virtual Futures Salon chat with Bionic Multimedia Artist Viktoria Modesta on modern identity, tech fashion and science innovation.

SelfReflector, an internet connected mirror able to calculate your age and play music from when you were a teenager.

– A series of interactive installations in partnership with Ars Electronica Linz and the Austrian Cultural Forum presenting work by KairUs art collectiveStefan TiefengraberJochen ZeirzerYen Tzu ChangVerena Mayrhofer and Dawid Liftinger.

Bento Lab, a DNA analysis laboratory that can be taken anywhere.

– Silk Leaf by Exhibition Road Engineering Resident Julian Melchiorri, the first man-made biological leaf prototype which harnesses natural photosynthesis to convert carbon dioxide into breathable oxygen.

– The GyroGlove, a life changer device that stabilizes hand tremors using beautifully simple gyroscope technology.

How to Build a Water Filter: A DIY Tutorial From the Future, a home-made water filter by Vytautas Jankauskas that becomes a symbol of resistance in a future, where limited access to a vital resource becomes part of our identity.

– Machine Wilderness, a collective of artists exploring new imaginations on how to design our technology as being native to our ecosystems.

– a selection of projects from Wheatstone Innovation Lab at King’s College London, including internet-connected enamelled automata, hyperuniform- patterned glass and digitally-embroidered muscle sensors.

–  Current Table by Caventou, an intelligent living object that uses the property of colour to convert light into energy, like plant photosynthesis.

– and many more!

 

dsc02196 dsc02198 dsc02211 dsc02201 dsc02214

All events are free and drop-in, and available on a first come, first served basis.

For the full programme please visit:

https://shop.vam.ac.uk/whatson/index/view/id/2662/event/Digital-Design-Weekend-2016/dt/2016-09-24/free/1

and https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/vamshop/wysiwyg/Digital_Design_Weekend_Programme_.pdf

A publication, supported by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, with contributions by all participants, will be distributed free duing the event.

dsc02352 dsc02353 dsc02355 dsc02357 dsc02361 dsc02375 dsc02382 dsc02350 dsc02349 dsc02347 dsc02338 dsc02333 dsc02315 dsc02292 dsc02271 dsc02261 dsc02255 dsc02247

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Viktoria Modesta, http://www.viktoriamodesta.com

Virtual Futures, http://www.virtualfutures.co.uk

Michaela Davies, http://www.michaeladavies.net

Alexander Whitley Dance Company & Memo Akten, www.alexanderwhitley.com

This Happened, www.thishappened.org

Michael Burton & Michiko Nitta, www.burtonnitta.co.uk

Machine Wilderness, http://machinewilderness.net

Loop.ph, http://loop.ph/

Jochen Zeirzer, http://www.jochen_zeirzer.public2.linz.at/index.html

Jayne Wallace, Jon Rogers, Pete Thomas, Mike Shorter and Richard Cook, http://productresearch.dundee.ac.uk/

Julian Melchiorri, www.julianmelchiorri.com

Caventou, http://www.caventou.com

Yen Tzu Chang, http://www.changyentzu.com

The High Altitude Bioprospecting Team, http://unnecessaryresearch.tumblr.com/IFC

Centro de Cultura Digital, Mexico City

Stefan Tiefengraber, http://www.stefantiefengraber.com

Linda Kronman & Andreas Zingerle (KairUs art collective), http://kairus.org

Yuko Mohri, http://mohrizm.net

University of Nottingham & Royal College of Art

Tanglebots, Lovebytes, FoAM Kernow, Weaving Codes, http://kairotic.org/a-tanglebots-workshop-report/

Arianna Mazzeo, ELISAVA Barcelona Design School and Engineering, http://www.opendesignworkshop.euwww.elisava.net

Mozilla Open IoT Studio, https://github.com/openiotstudio

Met Office Informatics Lab, http://www.informaticslab.co.uk

Women Hack for Non Profits, http://www.womenhackfornonprofits.com

BBC R&D

The Open University & MAKLab Limited, http://maklab.co.uk

Future Cities Catapult, http://futurecities.catapult.org.uk

How To Build Up, http://howtobuildup.org

Uniform, http://uniform.net

Andreas Siagian / Lifepatch, http://lifepatch.org

Miebi Sikoki

BioNet. Agriculture

Matt Pope and Alex Nash

Vytautas Jankauskas, http://montague.lt

Wheatstone Innovation Lab, http://www.inf.kcl.ac.uk/staff/mhoward/#.V6fBzmMaf0c

The GyroGlove, http://gyrogear.co

Bento Bioworks Ltd, http://www.bento.bio

Crossmodalism, www.crossmodalism.com

Rob Toulson & Jerry Fleming, http://www.robtoulson.com

Knit, http://weareknit.co.uk

The Great Steampunk Game Jam

Instatype, www.instatype.co

Ironbridge Institute, University of Birmingham, http://www.ironbridge.org.uk

Veronica Ranner, www.polyphonicfutures.com

Dubloon, http://www.dubloon.co.uk

Build Your Own Pavilion, Serpentine Galleries and Kidesign, buildyourownpavilion.serpentinegalleries.org

MyMiniFactory, https://www.myminifactory.com/pages/scan-the-world

Verena Mayrhofer, http://verenamayrhofer.at

Dawid Liftinger, http://dawidliftinger.com

 

When

 

Where

Victoria and Albert Museum – Cromwell Road, London, SW7 2RL, United Kingdom – View Map

 

Digital Programmes, Victoria and Albert Museum

Organiser of V&A Digital Design Weekend 2016

The Digital Programmes Team at the V&A, formed in 2008, engages visitors of all ages in a range of free activities and events that promote digital art and design practices and collaborative processes, inspire creativity, and stimulate discussion and exchange among creative industries professionals, students and visitors.

One Response

  1. […] Steirischer Herbst ESC gallery 2015 (Graz/Austria), XCOAX 2015 (Bergamo/Italy), London Design Week at Victoria & Albert Museum as a part of the Ars Electronica Export program (London/UK), MozFest 2016 (London/UK). The annual […]